Summer running

on

Wow, no blog post for nearly 2 months! I have to admit, I do tend to lose my running and blogging mojo over the summer months. I have still been running but just enjoying having no real big event to train for and taking a break from those long Sunday runs is always welcome. So what have I been up to over the last few weeks?

This is very exciting news and a real honour. At the end of June at our AGM, I was elected as the women’s captain for Penny Lane Striders. I feel really passionately about getting women involved in competitive racing whatever their ability and helping to support others to improve, so I hope that over the next 12 months I will be able to succeed at that! At the moment, we are performing really well in our local Grand Prix series and come the winter months I’m hoping we can increase participation in our cross country series too.

  • Ran in Brighton

I had to go to Brighton for a training day in July so of course I squeezed in a little run while I was down there. (Representing Team PLS of course!)

2016-07-10 17.23.04

  • Ran my first trail race

13690572_10208714363109813_1330738253503064445_n

This was so much fun but also so tough! 5.2 miles around muddy fields and woods in parbold at the Harrock Hill race on 21st July. It was part of the club’s Off Road Championship series and although I don’t think I’ll be able to race in 5 of them to be in the chance of a prize, it was fun to try something new.

  • Got a new 5 mile PB at the Sefton Park 5 miler

27699508083_d28b6f42bd

38.51 – sub 40 minutes! I did the same race last year in 40.19 and the year before in 42.06, so I’ll just keep chipping away at it. I’m quite pleased with that because it was my first real race after my injury and my training hasn’t been too consistent really.

Before…

2016-07-13 21.14.08

And after! Nice t-shirts as well as the usual medal.

2016-07-13 19.21.18

  • Volunteered at parkrun for the first time

I know – what’s taken me so long?! I was on unscannable barcodes but then started helping out on scanning as the scanners were being unreliable and it appears that all my years of library experience scanning books came in handy as I had no problems! It was really fun and it definitely won’t be the last time.

Eli also ran in her PhD graduation gown and brought along her thesis too, as both Princes parkrun and Penny Lane Striders were thanked in the acknowledgements. You might have spotted her in a recent parkrun newsletter too – she’s bonkers but fab!

2016-07-23 07.55.40

  • Re-discovered my running mojo

My mileage for June and July was really low, with only 28 miles in June and 34 in July, which is quite a drop considering I was running more than that a week in April & May! I tend to repeat this pattern every year and I think it’s good to have some time out to indulge in other activities and not feel the pressure of having to follow a strict plan. Good for the body too and also good for the mind! I was considering running Chester marathon in October, but it would have meant starting my training almost immediately after the Liverpool marathon, and with my injury and mental break needed, it didn’t seem like a good idea. Hats off to people who run multiple marathons a year though!

I got to the point at the end of July when I was really missing the training, so I had to re-discover my running mojo. I’ve entered the Wirral half which is on September 11th and I have also entered a 100 mile challenge for August and I’m really enjoying pushing myself in my training for the half marathon. I moved up a group at club for our Thursday runs which are longer, tempo-paced runs that usually combine hills last night (I had been to scared to push myself over longer distances while marathon training) and we ran 7.2 miles at 8.20 pace. If I could keep that up over 13 miles I would be very happy indeed! (Aimingย for a sub 1.50)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. AnnaTheApple says:

    Congrats on becoming captain!
    How cool about the parkrunning in the graduation gown. Is it actually theirs? I only borrowed mine and didn’t buy it!

  2. Maria says:

    Wow congratulations on team captain! Awesome!
    A run in Brighton is always fab! Glad you enjoyed volunteering at parkrun too.
    Nice work on the pb. You are right it is good to cut back the miles a bit every now and then. I did the 100 mile challenge in July and have signed up for September, but I’m having a break now!

Leave a Reply

